Well…

  1. To get to see Arsenal play at least once this year – FAILED once again. It’s the recession more than anything else. Is there a corner being turned? I don’t know. Maybe I’ll go this year…
  2. To visit a country I’ve never been to before – FAILED not much prospect in 2013, but I will be in Belgium rather a lot for the first half of the year. Don’t ask… Oh, and I spent a few days in Nottingham – a place I’d never have imagined ever visiting, Lovely place, actually – very friendly people…
  3. To start cycling again as soon as the weather improves – SUCCEEDEDactually I did rather well in the first part of the year, principally because I changed my strategy – instead of hauling my ass up to Portumna Forest Park, I decided to go cycling along the old N7, which has been altered to accommodate cyclists. I cycled most Sundays for the first half of the year, sometimes in inclement weather. Ironically, I stopped cycling altogether once the weather started to “improve”. I must get back into this, because it’s very do-able…
  4. To generally get the oul‘ bod a bit more together – SO-SOsee 3. above. Plus I was doing a bit of walking there for a while, but I haven’t walked in almost two months, I’d say. Been rather busy. Must get back into that too…
  5. To have a nice foreign holiday this year – FAILEDsee 1. above. However, I am assured by Mrs. P that something might be in the offing this year…
  6. To continue the picture painting – FAILEDbut I plan to finish off that painting I started ages ago and start some more during the year. I’ve got some ideas…
  7. To have a better year at work this year than I had last year – SUCCEEDEDhad a very good year at work, as it happens – got a particular monkey off my back which has given me quite a boost!
  8. To see friends more – SUCCEEDEDbut must try harder!
  9. Not to volunteer to do anything for anyone under any circumstance – FAILED – but I got away with it. Everything worked out OK, thank goodness!
  10. To stop wrecking me own head – WHAT DO YOU THINK…?

I’m not going to repeat the annual resolution exercise from this point onwards. The more eagle-eyed amongst you will have noticed that I didn’t do my 6-month review last year. I just couldn’t work up any enthusiasm for it at the time. And I don’t really want to go through the end-of-year process which highlights just how crap I am at setting and keeping resolutions. That’s it – I’ve decided…;-)

Regards,

 

djp

